What's new

Hooking up my PC to my receiver, where do i start? (1 Viewer)

RentBaxley

Agent
I am TOTALLY new to this concept, and have tried searching but don't even know what to search for! Basically I have a ton of MP3 files on my IBM T41 that I woudl like to play through my home stereo receiver. I don't think that my computer has antyhign set up for doing this, so i imagine i would need some sort of converter.

Can you all steer me in the right direction? Is there something EASY that I can buy to hook this up?

thanks!
R

Jonny_L

Stunt Coordinator
Get yourself a cable that has a phono plug on one end, like your headphones do, and on the other end RCA type plugs like a stereo or VCR would have. They're about $6 at a radioshack. Then plug the phono end into your pc soundcards out or speaker port and the other end into one of your receivers inputs and voila.

For more information about playing with pc's and home theaters I find a good site is htpcnews.com :D

Ken Chan

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ken
If all you have on the laptop is a headphone jack, you'll get better results with something like this that uses the USB port.

RentBaxley

Agent
Thanks for the info Jonny. I thought that using the soundcard on your computer was a bad idea...that it would give lousy sound quality. is this true? If not, i think i already have one of those plugs!

RentBaxley

Agent
Thanks Ken. what else might a computer have for audio output?

I have always worked with a business laptop, but I'm seriously considering a personal computer mainly for audio/video purposes. I would like to be able to hook it up to my HDTV/RPTV and my home stereo system. I'm leaning the I-Mac direction right now. Do you guys know where direct me to learn what my best fit might be? Or personal suggestions?

SethH

Senior HTF Member