Hook-Up Hints

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Jeff_Hill, Jun 12, 2004.

1. Jeff_Hill

Jeff_Hill Auditioning

Let me start by saying I'm a newbie to all the multi ways to hook up a system. My TV a Zenith is 27" PIP with one A/V and one Variable Audio Output. I bought a Yamaha YHT 800 system( HTR 5550 Receiver, DV-C 6480 DVD and 6 Speakers). I have digital cable( Scientific Atlanta Explorer 2200). I have read many posts and get more confused with all the ways people hook their systems up. Hopefully, talking about mine will help clear things up for me. The cable box has S-Video. The receiver has 2 Audio/ 5 Video inputs, 4 S-Video, and 3 Optical/ 1 Coax Digital input. It has Component but not now for me. The DVD has S-Video and Digital. The Hi-Fi VCR just A/V hook-ups. All suggestions appreciated. Thanks in advance.

2. Don_Berg

Don_Berg Supporting Actor

Try s-video from the cable box and the DVD. Use a fixed audio output (not variable) from the TV to the receiver for best quality audio, use the receiver's volume control instead of the TVs.

3. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Wayne
    Jeff,

It would be helpful to know how you intend to use your system. For instance, do you ever watch TV with the system off – like for the news, or kids watching VCR tapes, etc?

If not, the easiest way is to connect everything to the Yamaha receiver, and let the TV be a video monitor only. This means there will only be a video cable between the Yamaha and the TV, and the TV will always be set to “Video,” “Line In” or whatever the label it uses for the RCA jacks.

Going with that arrangement, S-video would be the way to fly for your gear. Except that your VCR is not S-video capable. Now, if the Yamaha up-converts composite video (i.e., the yellow RCA jack on the VCR) to S-video, there’s no problem. If not, you won’t be able to “mix and match” the two video configurations, so you’ll have to use composite video for all your equipment.