What's new

Hook up help please (1 Viewer)

swagfu

Auditioning
Real Name
kevin
Hi all,

I am new to the HDMI community and am not sure I totally understand everythig when it comes to hooking up my new products. The salesman tried to help, but things were going over my head. Any help will be appreciated. I just purchased a Sony STR DG-920 and a Sony Blu-Ray BDP-S360. I have a Mitzubishi 60" DLP about a year old. Oh, and a cable box with HDMI DVR. My goal is to be able to watch TV without having to have the receiver on and still be able to take advantage of the best possible video and sound while watching a movie through the Blu-ray.

The salesman said that I should hook the cable box and the blu-ray directly to the TV. Then use an optical cable for the sound from the TV to the Receiver. But, since I have no clue about this stuff (yet), I have a few questions.

1. Will this work?
2. Do I lose any capabilities doing it this way?
3. If I put the HDMI cable to the receiver and an HDMI to the TV from the receiver, will I have to have the receiver on to watch regular TV without using the receiver speakers?
4. If this was your systrm, which would you choose?
5. If I do all HDMI, is there a special brand or style I need to have? They had them where I bought the receiver and blu-ray, but I know there must be something of quality out there for less than $100.
6. My HDMI cables are about 1.5 years old. The salesman said I might have to get all new ones due to technology. Both cables I currently have say 1.3 on them, but he was talking about 1.3b. Does this make a difference?

I am sure that once I get everything hooked up I will have other questions. Thank you for helping me out with this. Hopefully I got a good set up with these two items. Got them both for under $500 total.

Stephen Tu

Screenwriter
Originally Posted by swagfu