What's new

Podcast HomeTheaterUnited Podcast Episode 15 - Dave Upton on room correction and calibration with REW and Audyssey (2 Viewers)

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
I have only 2 problems with mine.
  • Size - It's huge, which severely limits placement options in my room. I want to go dual at some point and cannot see that ever happening with this one.
  • No PEQ - Until I get my hands on a Processor like the AVM 70, I have very little control [or even knowledge] of it's peaks and nulls.
That said, this sub has been anchoring my HT for nearly 14 years and has never disappointed in a general sense.
Yeah, the AVM-70 will give you more options, or better yet, outboard correction like Dave Upton uses.

Whatever I replace it with won't be any smaller. I've pretty much decided on a sealed dual 15" model. It just comes down to which one(s) to get.

John Dirk

Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
JOHN
Whatever I replace it with won't be any smaller. I've pretty much decided on a sealed dual 15" model. It just comes down to which one(s) to get.
Unfortunately in my case, space is a limiting factor. I'll probably end up with dual 10's. The RSL "Speedwoofers" look interesting. I may end up auditioning a pair one day.

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
Unfortunately in my case, space is a limiting factor. I'll probably end up with dual 10's. The RSL "Speedwoofers" look interesting. I may end up auditioning a pair one day.
I wouldn't think those would hold up to the SVS you have.

John Dirk

Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
JOHN
I wouldn't think those would hold up to the SVS you have.