What's new

Home Theater + turntable (1 Viewer)

frmu6

Auditioning
Real Name
Frederick
Hello everyone, I'm glad to join this community !

I have a question since I'm new with turnatable and home theater system.

I just bought a samsung h5 h 5530

http://www.futureshop.ca/en-CA/product/samsung-samsung-1000-watt-5-1-channel-blu-ray-dvd-home-theatre-system-ht-h5530-zc-ht-h5530-zc/10291238.aspx?path=a74effd655318ce324ca0fd69da3f59aen02&lang=fr-CA&pcname=&sku=10291238

I want to hook up my turntable to the system.

What I've done

1-Plug the home theater system with speakers and all stuff..
2-Plug my turntable in a phono input form a receiver
3-Plug my receiver output in my AUX DVD input
4- Select phono on my receiver and AUX on my DVD

The problem is the sound is very weak (I have to put max volume on DVD to have a little sound) and it only comes out of one speaker and not the surround system. I have a stereo receiver too.

What did I did wrong ? Thank you everyone for helping

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
frmu6 said:
Audio Comp, with RCA wires
bThat makes no sense.Did you use preouts or a tape loop?Model of this receiver would help. Otherwise you can get a decent Recoton Phono preamp for $20-ish bucks.

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
Wow, that is a pretty good receiver...back when RCA actually made it.in the section marked "tape".Use either rec or monitor.I think, not sure, audio component is a preout(meaning the volume knob provides gain). But since it isn't labeled, who knows. That is ambiguous. But rec or monitor will provide line level(which is what you need).

frmu6

Auditioning
Real Name
Frederick
Tried Rec or Monitor and still very little sound at max volume on DVD and Receiver.

And only on the front left speaker (balance is set in the middle)

frmu6

Auditioning
Real Name
Frederick
Bought it used so don't know, but speakers and DVD are new.