1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Home theater setup

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by JorgeG, Jul 28, 2004.

1. JorgeG

JorgeG Extra

Hi, my name is Jorge Gadea from Tampa, Fl and I wanted to get some advice from any of you knowledgeable audiophiles out there. I'm fairly new to HT but I have a true appreciation for true sound. I'm putting together HT 6.1 setup. Already have in-ceiling surround rears and rear center (Speakercraft AIMones, [email protected]) Room is 24'Lx14'W with cathedral ceiling, wood floor. Thinking of getting Martin Logans Ascents vs Aeons ([email protected])for fronts & ML Cinema ([email protected]) for center. Also have 4 pair inceiling Speakercraft(40W-100W) inside house (Zone 2) Question- Would Yamaha 1400 with a separate amp to drive the Logans be enough to make this setup sound great? If so, would appreciate brand names +/- model #'s and configuration recommendations to help make this a reality! Thanks in advance.

Jorge G.

2. GrahamT

GrahamT Supporting Actor

Hi Jorge,
    Since the ML's are 4 ohm, you will probably need a power amp as you are already aware. For a quality setup like that, I would get a dedicated pre amp and power amp instead of a receiver. Outlaw Audio has a few combinations that might work and they have a very good reputation.
    www.outlawaudio.com Also, check out B&K, Rotel, Anthem, or see what you're Martin Logan dealer recommends. You could use a receiver for a pre-amp only for the theater, and use the receiver's internal amp to power the 2nd zone.
    Hope this helps

3. Jack Briggs

Jack Briggs Executive Producer