Home theater setup - Help!

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Merwyn, Jan 23, 2006.

  1. Merwyn

    Merwyn Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a Sansui AUX711 integrated that works divine with a Denon CD player on Paradigm front LR speakers. I recently bought a new Yamaha AV receiver - RX557 to pair with a couple of rear Infinity speakers, AR sub & a new center. I am a little confused on trying to get the best of both worlds.

    I want to have stereo with the Sansui & HT with the Yamaha using the same front LR speakers for both. Can I use the main preouts of the Yamaha running into the Sansui and then connect the rear speakers, center & the sub to the Yamaha?

    Will the home theatre connected to the Yamaha work in this setup? What configuration do I need for the Sansui when I am playing the HT wih Yamaha?

    That is, apart from using a speaker selector like Russound ...

    Appreciate answers as I am going crazy being a newbie!
     
  2. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,184
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Welcome to the Forum, Merwn!

    The critical thing will be balancing all the speakers. You’ll have to balance the front left and right with the Sansui’s volume control and mark the setting. Any time you want to watch a DVD you’ll have to first re- set the Sansui’s volume control to that mark.

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  3. Merwyn

    Merwyn Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Wayne.

    I'll reply if ever I blow soemthing up [​IMG]
     
  4. Merwyn

    Merwyn Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wayne

    I just figured out there are no pre-outs on the Yamaha RX V557. Is there any other way to get a set of pre-outs to connect to the Sansui?

    Thanks for the reply.
     
  5. Cees Alons

    Cees Alons Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 1997
    Messages:
    19,449
    Likes Received:
    337
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Cees Alons
    Merwyn,

    Doesn't the Yamaha have a Stereo Out (or called differently, e.g. Audio Out) at all?


    Cees
     
  6. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,184
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Check Radio Shack or a car stereo shop. They should have something to convert speaker-level to line level.

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  7. Merwyn

    Merwyn Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I heard from a source that outputs of recorders (Tape recorders) are as good as pre-outs in a receiver that does not have pre-outs. This is because the recorder outputs are independent of the receiver volume control. The Yamaha does not have tapre recorder but MD/CD-R outs.

    Can I use them or is there a danger of blowing up something?
     
  8. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,184
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Sure, you can use them, but...
    And that’s the problem, the recorder outputs won’t change. This means anytime you change the Yamaha’s volume, you’ll have to manually change the Sansui’s volume as well, or your speakers will be out of balance. It’ll work, but what a pain.

    I’d go with the converters.

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  9. Merwyn

    Merwyn Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Wayne, I guess due to some signal/noise loss, I might go for the Russound AB speaker switch for 2 amps & 1 set of speakers.

    Thanks once again ...
     

Share This Page