What's new

Home Theater Setup HELP (1 Viewer)

Korey R

Grip
Could someone please help me setup my home theater? I need some help with the speaker setup. I'm open to any other configuration options if you have them, I'm new to this and am trying my best to set this up.

ANY HELP WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED! The receiver & dvd player was a Christmas gift and I would just like everything to work properly. I went through the manuals a few times but I just can't figure out what is wrong. THANKS!

The problem: The surround speakers won't work / they are hooked in correctly because when I use "test tone" for checking the speakers (an option through the receiver) it produces sound through all 4 speakers but that is the only time that sound comes out of the surround speakers. Also when I use my TV or the VCR so I can use my speakers the sound only comes out of one front speaker and nothing from the surround speakers or the other front speaker.

Here's my setup:

-When using the radio through the receiver the two front speakers work but the two surround speakers do not.

-When using the dvd player with receiver and vcr (using line 1), video works great, but only audio from the front two speakers, nothing from the surround speakers.

-When using the vcr for watching VHS tapes, etc., one front speaker works only, nothing from the other front speaker or surround speakers. Same way with the xbox (using line 2 on vcr).

-When using tv through the vcr (so I can use the speakers), only sound from one front speaker once again, nothing from the other front speaker or surround speakers.

The following are my components:

TV (old model, no hookups in the back except for cable in)

VCR (newer type VCR with 2 audio/video in/outs - line1, line2)

Stereo Receiver - Pioneer 500-Watt Receiver with Dolby Digital, Dolby Pro Logic II and DTS Processors; Model: VSX-D412

DVD Player - Magnavox Multiformat Progressive-Scan DVD Player with Component Video Output; Model: MDV455/17