Home Theater Pass Through

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Troy R, May 23, 2003.

  1. Troy R

    Troy R Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Could someone explain to me what exactly this means?

    I've read a few people suggest that getting a preamp or integrated amp with HT pass through would help with having a GREAT 2 channel set up that could be integrated into an HT (which I am trying to accomplish).

    does it just bypass the preamp functions of my 2 channel rig and allow me to use my 2 channel amp for HT. While still allowing me to use my 2 channel preamp for music only?

    any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks,
    Troy
     
  2. chung_sotheby

    chung_sotheby Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually, the HT passthrough is just a loop, so it passes whatever signal directly to the amp without any gain or other Preamp functions being applied to the signal. So, yes, you are using your 2 channel amp for your front speakers in both HT and 2 channel use. The only bad thing about this is that you have to keep your 2 chan preamp on at all times, which might not bode well for some 2 chan tube preamps, and you have to buy an extra set of interconnects, which might be a moot point if you already have seperate systems. Kind of like using an extension cord. The cord itself is like the interconnects, while the outlet box is like the 2 chan pre in HT bypass mode, all it is doing is accepting a signal and passing it on. hope this helped
     
  3. Ricky T

    Ricky T Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 1999
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Rogue 66 tube preamp has a Unity Gain HT passthrough...so, with a flick of the switch on the preamp, the Rogue's volume control and input are rendered invisible. So invisible that I turn the Rogue OFF when not using it.

    I am not sure about the Adcom gfp750's Unity Gain switch (whether or not you can turn it off).
     
  4. Kevin_R_H

    Kevin_R_H Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Troy,

    This feature is not a neccesity for integrating a HT into a "killer 2-channel" system.

    If your stereo preamp doesn't have this feature, the main ramification is that you now have two volume controls in the signal path (heading to the Main Speakers). My preamp doesn't have this feature, and therefore sometimes I spend a few seconds at the beginning of a DVD adjusting the volume of my Mains to match the other speakers. It's really no big deal.

    Good luck to you. Your "plan of attack" is perfectly sound.

    Kevin
     
  5. Troy R

    Troy R Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks guys! Much appreciated. I'm just trying to figure out which way I want to take my system. I'm much more critical of my 2 channel music but I just CAN'T live without my HT either... Gotta have my cake and eat it too I guess you could say...

    Thanks again!
    Troy
     
  6. Ricky T

    Ricky T Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 1999
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Troy,

    The most economical combination would be: HT receiver, 2 channel preamp (with or w/o HT unity bypass), and 2 channel amp. If you are super critical about 2 channel, you can easily spend more on the preamp than the receiver. And all three components are upgradeable independent of the other two.

    For example, on a $2500 budget, I'd probably do: Pioneer Elite 45tx (or perhaps Denon 3803 or NAD 762), Rogue 66 magnum (or Adcom gfp750, both with HT bypass), and used Parasound 2200II 250x2. Each ~ $700-900.

    On a $1200 budget, you can get a Denon 3802 (600 new) and 300 each on a used 2 channel preamp and 2 channel amp (ie, Parasound 1100 pre and 1000A 125x2 amp).
     
  7. Troy R

    Troy R Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  8. Kevin_R_H

    Kevin_R_H Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Troy,

    You've got it - "pre-out outputs" from HT amp/receiver get connected into "AUX inputs" of stereo preamp (or some other input).

    Simply select AUX as the source input of your preamp, and you are in business.

    Kevin
     
  9. Gordon B

    Gordon B Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    With the lash up recommended in this thread, is there any way of integrating your sub with the 2 channel part of the system? If your sub is hooked up to the receiver's sub out jack, there would be no way to get the signal to the two channel music system. Right?
     
  10. Craig_Kg

    Craig_Kg Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The idea is to keep away from processing like bass management for music. Some subs (notably some English ones) will accept input from both the high and low level inputs with separate gains and cutoffs and do a sum total - so with these, you can connect the sub to the receiver as usual and also wire the speaker cables to the sub as well as the front speakers.

    On the HT pass though side of things, I agree with Kevin.
     
  11. BruceD

    BruceD Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 1999
    Messages:
    1,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  12. Gordon B

    Gordon B Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bruce--I couldn't get your equipment link to work for some reason and could use more info on your connections. I assume you are sending full-range signals from the receiver's main speaker pre-outs via interconnects to your pre-amp and from there to your power amp. Does the crossover sit between the power amp and the main speakers and split the signal between the mains and the sub from there?
    I have a Sampson amp powering two SVS Ultra subs instead of one powered sub. Does this complicate things even more. Thanks in advance.
     
  13. Troy R

    Troy R Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks again guys!

    I just came across the Krell KAV300i integrated amp (used is in my price range). It has the HT pass through... anyone have experience with the Krell?
     
  14. BruceD

    BruceD Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 1999
    Messages:
    1,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gordon

    Can you bring up the HTF member's equipment page?

    Member's Equipment Page

    I'm about 2/3 of the way down on the third column (BruceD).
    ______________________

    A short diagram follows:

    1) HT processor L&R analog outs --> 2-channel preamp L&R AUX-IN

    2) 2-channel preamp L&R analog outs --> Marchand xover L&R analog ins

    3) Marchand xover L&R high-pass outs --> L&R amp ins--> L&R speakers

    4) Marchand xover L&R low-pass (sum switch) L out--> powered sub Left in
    ______________________

     
  15. Troy R

    Troy R Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A few more quick questions...

    Would this all work with a passive 2 channel preamp like the McCormack TLC-1?

    Another option? Could I just use a "Y" cable interconnect one end comes from my 2 channel preamp, and the other comes from my HT receiver, the single end combines to get plugged into the back of my 2 channel amp. Would this work as long as the preamp that isn't being used is turned off?

    Thanks,
    Troy
     
  16. BruceD

    BruceD Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 1999
    Messages:
    1,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Troy,

    The setup I use;
    HT processor preouts--> 2-channel preamp ins & outs--> amp ins--> speakers

    should work just fine with the McCormack TLC-1 as long as the impedance between the McCormack TLC-1 and your amp is compatible, i.e. enough output voltage from the McCormack TLC-1 to drive your amps and speakers to a high enough volume for your HT use. Sometimes there can be a mismatch between a passive preamp and the amps/speakers regarding volume.

    When using the passive preamp for HT sources (and speaker calibration), your McCormack TLC-1 preamps volume control will be turned all the way up (which means no volume attenuation) from the McCormack TLC-1.

    All volume control during HT viewing will be from the HT processor.
     
  17. Craig_Kg

    Craig_Kg Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Using a Y cable like that might cause problems depending on how the outputs of the preamp and HT receiver interact (even when one is turned off). Theory says it's not a good idea as the output impedances are usually lower than the amp input's but you could try it (and let us nkow your findings).
     
  18. Gordon B

    Gordon B Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bruce -- the equipment list won't come up either. Thanks for the diagram. It helps, but I still have some questions because I am confused by your terminology. When you say analog outs,I take it that's the pre-outs. If so, this is how it would translate to my equipment
    I run interconnects from my receiver (Denon 4800)l/r preouts to the pre-amp(yet to be bought) inputs and then another set of interconnects from the pre-amp outputs to the Marchand X-over (yet to be bought). Then a set of interconnects carries the high pass material form the X-over to my power amp (Parasound 1500A)inputs and then out to the speakers (B&W 7NTs). The X-over low pass material goes to my Sampson amp via interconnects and then out to my two Ultras.
    Seems like a simple, elegant solution to a complicated problem. What Marchand X-over do you recommend for my set up?
     
  19. chung_sotheby

    chung_sotheby Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gordon, your string seems to make sense, in that there is a daisy chain of interconnects, with each set of interconnects either going to a preamp, amp, sub amp or crossover unit. This way, if you wish, you can set only your mains to full frequency with the Denon, and then use the high end crossover to sift out the low end sound to be routed to the subs.
    As for crossover units by Marchand, all the ones that I have heard were incredible. Well built, easy to set up, and totally transparent. I forgot the model # (I think XM9) but it worked well with a 50 hz crossover point. As for where to purchase one, I believe that there are a couple for sale either on ebay
    or audiogon
    (dont want my post to be deleted, so used spoilers just in case) Good luck, and it looks like you are on your way towards a nice integration.
     
  20. Troy R

    Troy R Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks guys!

    I'll have to do some auditioning and see what I like. If all else fails I'll just have to swap out interconnects on the amp every time I want to watch a movie. I listen to a lot more music than movies, so it would only be done once or twice a week...

    Thanks again,
    Troy
     

Share This Page