Home Theater Automation

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by ChadF, Dec 28, 2002.

  1. ChadF

    ChadF Extra

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just barely getting my feet wet into this whole HT thing and I must say it has definitely become a pleasant addiction!

    I'd like to know if anyone out there would like to share any of their systems that have some sort of automation built in. I recently purchased a HAL Deluxe Kit and would like to know if anyone is using any type of unique HAL or X-10 setup to add a little something extra to the experience.
     
  2. Chris Luebbe

    Chris Luebbe Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I haven't started my HT yet, but I have some ideas as to what I would want automated in my setup.
    • I want my front projector to drop down out of the ceiling when in use so that when it's not in use, the mounting platform is flush with the ceiling.
    • Ideally, I would like the projection screen to drop down out of the ceiling as well, but I don't know enough about the high-end screens to know if this is even possible or not (rolling them to conserve space?).
    • If I don't automate the screen, I would want to have automated curtains in front of the screen (as a quasi-safety measure).
    That's all I can think of right now. The only other thing would be to have the dimmers on the room lighting automated and synced with the start of a movie.
    Looking forward to starting my HT project toward the end of 2003,
    Chris
     
  3. Brett DiMichele

    Brett DiMichele Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use a Phillips Pronto Pro TSU6000 Remote and I have
    an X-10 IR543 in the A/V Rack and a bunch of X-10 Lamp
    Modules in the room.

    I have a Macro on the Pronto Pro that turns everything on
    switches to the appropriate modes, turns up the volume
    starts the DVD and turns off all the lights then turns on
    my 2 "Spider" Lamps (5 headed Brass Lamps that stetch out
    across the ceiling) and then it dims them to an appropriate
    level.

    I also need to get an apliance module and a motor to close
    my Levolor Vertical Blinds across the 10' window in the
    livingroom (also will be programmed into the Macro)
     
  4. Jens Raethel

    Jens Raethel Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 1998
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Jens
    In my theater I have a remote controlled Futronix dimmer that is programmed to my Pronto.
    Infront of the screen I have a motorized red velvet curtain.
    The Screen has a electric, remote controlled masking system.
    I really like all those electric gadgets![​IMG]
     
  5. ChadF

    ChadF Extra

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Amazing setup Jens! You have really outdone yourself. I'd go to Cinemax over any public theater. [​IMG]
     
  6. Allen Ross

    Allen Ross Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have a remote [​IMG]
     
  7. BrianAe

    BrianAe Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've gotten good at throwing empty beer bottles at the light switch [​IMG]
     
  8. Allen Ross

    Allen Ross Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    0
    ding ding ding we have a winner [​IMG]
     
  9. Bud Huey

    Bud Huey Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone help me with some recommendations on how to automate the curtain in front of my screen? I found a $600 solution, but there has to be a better - meaning cheaper - alternative.

    Thanks,
    Bud
     

Share This Page