What's new

Home Stereo On a Budget...You Get What You Pay For? (1 Viewer)

btsb

Auditioning
Real Name
Brenton
Hi. Im a complete audio/electronics beginner, looking for some help.
I picked up this Sony stereo reciever for $20
IMG_20120824_155544.jpg

and this pair of Aiwa bookshelf speakers for $8
IMG_20120824_155527.jpg

For $5 more I bought an "audio y adapter" at walmart that is supposed to plug my ipod(normal headphone jack) into the reciever(red and white "RCA plugs")
I put it all together hoping to have some decent sound for super cheap...but no sound comes out
The reciever turns on, and seems to function fine switching between the inputs. It looks like there is little light by the volume knob, which i assume is supposed to turn on when its not muted, but its not lit. thought it might not be a light for all i know.
The speakers are a little bit more abused looking, but I would expect them(or at least one of them) to make some sort of noise. I have them plugged into the "crimp" style connectors on the back of the receiver. black wire with white stripe is + and solid black is - right?
auxillary cable is plugged into the back of the reciever in the "phono" input location, and reciver is set to "phono".
Please, help me out here, I just want to play some music! I pulled the cover off the receiver and all the fuses are good. I dont know where else to look.
Thanks in advance!

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
Post a picture of the back of that Sony rack system...
For a few years, Sony's rack systems were "one piece" with a separate CD player and...
The BASE of it is where the amp was. This thing may just be a "pre-amp"...which is still a good thing...
So, post another pic and we can help.

Mike Frezon

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Brenton:

Did you try plugging the RCA cables into the "Video" input and switch the selector on the front to "Video?"

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam