home security cameras

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by DannyL, Jun 25, 2002.

  1. DannyL

    DannyL Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am having a new home built. the builder is charging $1000 to run cable and hook up a camera (price per camera). that is total highway robbery. they also offer just to run rg-6 and cat5-wiring for $100 (no camera). my question is this. i assume the rg-6 is for video, so does that mean the power for the camera will be through the cat-5 wiring?
     
  2. Jared_B

    Jared_B Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    The CAT5 wiring can be used for anything. There are several individual wires in the bundle that can be used for power, signal, etc. $1000 per camera(!!) is outrageous. Have them just run the CAT5 to every room you would ever want it in, and install the cameras yourself later.

    Member Ryan Wright has had some excellent ideas for creating a home security system, and I'm sure he could give you some tips.
     
  3. Daniel Swartz

    Daniel Swartz Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe DLink makes an 802.11b camera that is completely network/web enabled. Personally, I use a few Axis 2100s and a StarDot all connected via CAT5...
     
  4. KyleS

    KyleS Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2000
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Careful with a wireless camera they are NOT recommended for security since other people can pick up the signal rather easily, especially the cameras used by parents to watch baby sitters, etc. I agree that $1000 is way to expensive unless they are installing movement survos, Color LCD, & Shock therapy for the crooks [​IMG]
    KyleS
     
  5. Daniel Swartz

    Daniel Swartz Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think the 802.11b encryption is strong enough to prevent general wireless interception (e.g., baby intercom stuff) but obviously not strong enough to prevent a brute force attack unless D-Link is using a higher level of encryption. I'm a hypocrite though since I hardwire everything. [​IMG]
     
  6. DannyL

    DannyL Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    i plan on using hard-wired cameras for monitoring the outside of my house. i just want to go with something simple (black & white)and that is easy for me to install.
    any suggestions? thanks for all the input.
     
  7. Mike Lenthol

    Mike Lenthol Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was thinking about adding video to security too, but what do you people use for monitoring? Is it just a long running tape? Or are there hardware solutions for turning the recording on/off only when the camera sees 'activity'?
     
  8. Ryan Wright

    Ryan Wright Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2000
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Danny,
    Run one RG6 and one cat5 cable to every location where you might want a camera. Home-run them back to a central location (closet, etc). The RG6 will carry the video signal and the cat5 will provide power and carry audio (if you buy a camera that supports audio). If you want to use pan/tilt devices, run an extra cat5 so you'll have enough wires available.
    Check out these cameras. I have experience directly with this camera. Cheap & excellent quality. Works great.
    Mike: There are lots of options available for recording, but the best I've heard so far (haven't used myself) was posted here by a fellow HTF member: Use a Tivo! You have to do your research and buy an older model, but you should be able to just set the thing to record in a loop forever. With a ~100GB hard drive, you should get a 7 day loop. Plus, you can review your footage while it's recording.
     
  9. Ryan Wright

    Ryan Wright Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2000
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, one more thing. Don't buy any of the cheap cameras from x10.com. They are toys, and are not meant for real life applications. (If you just want a cheap toy, they work fine, though)
     
  10. Mike Lenthol

    Mike Lenthol Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ryan: that would surely work, but say I come home and just want to see the activity without fast forwarding 8 hours clouds going by, is that somehow possible?
     
  11. Ken Wagner

    Ken Wagner Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 1999
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry to butt in on your thread Danny but I am also thinking about this but for my business. We are moving into a different building and will have to build interior walls to compartmentalize each area. While doing this I am considering adding cameras to "watch over" our equipment. I know I've read somewhere that there are some systems that can be monitored over the Internet from home. Has anyone had any experience with these? Does anyone have any suggestions about business systems?
     
  12. Daniel Swartz

    Daniel Swartz Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    0
    You really have two options to Internet-enable your cameras. You can buy cameras with built-in web servers, such as the Axis 2100/2120, or you can buy normal cameras and plug them into a video server with a built-in web server (again, an Axis product). It really depends on how many rooms you plan on wiring and the types of cameras you want to use.
     
  13. Ryan Wright

    Ryan Wright Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2000
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  14. Daniel Swartz

    Daniel Swartz Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    0
    20% off @ Smarthome.com on $100+. Use code: E2K0226-9. Enjoy!
     
  15. KyleS

    KyleS Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2000
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Daniel I would be very interested in these web cameras. What is required on the server end to hook them up? Will just a dial up work or do you need DSL or Cable to really get something out of it? My parents have a bar and would love to check in on some of their employees & to see how business is doing every now and again from home. Any info or help would be great.

    KyleS
     
  16. Daniel Swartz

    Daniel Swartz Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    0
    I run two Axis 2100s. They will work with a dial-up connection but it's probably more of a hassle then it's worth. A cable/DSL connection will work in a variety of capacities: A) you could have an always active feed that you can monitor from anywhere over the web; or B) you could have the camera upload a 640x480 image to a website of your choice every x number of seconds (I use 7 second intervals). I have a problem where I haven't been able to access the live feed over the web because of my firewall. However, if you don't have a firewall (you probably wouldn't need one in a bar unless you link your office computers to your broadband connection), you should be fine. These cameras can be had for ~$300 on eBay or $400 retail.
     

Share This Page