Home Depot outdoor extention cord...

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by Mike_T_, May 12, 2004.

1. Mike_T_

Mike_T_ Stunt Coordinator

Does anyone use this for speaker wire? I recently read about it in The Absolute Sound. The gave it a favorable review. It's 14g black and orange outdoor cable. You snip off the AC ends and attatch some termination. There are 3 wires inside the jacket, each with their own shielding. The 3rd wire is the ground, which, I just left alone.

As far as I can tell, it sounds great. I'm just curious if anyone else uses this extention cable? I know other's here have used Home Depot speaker wire, but outdoor extention cord??

2. Mike SJ

Mike SJ Supporting Actor

3. MichaelDDD

MichaelDDD Supporting Actor

Mike
    Wow, interesting. NOT what I was expecting to see! I was thinking more along the lines:

But no; you make me go [​IMG] instead! [​IMG]

Heh, can't help you here...I've never used it for speaker wire before.

But w/the price of good quality 12 gauge wire so cheap How can you go wrong? I'd order this stuff instead. My $.02. Good luck.

4. TimMc

TimMc Stunt Coordinator

I had one of the longer HD ext cords that "someone" hacked (luckily I wasn't using it when they sliced halfway through it at the door). I was all bent and was gonna trash it when I stumbled on the Quad reference to this stuff (they reportedly used it for their gear at a show in London), so I figured what the heck, finished hacking it into equal halves and hooked up the mains in the den with it. Grand shtuff! Never got eaten by the vacuum or the cat.