What's new

Hollywood's New Thing: Front Loading (1 Viewer)

Chauncey_G

Second Unit
I've been working in movie theaters for the past 15 years, the past 5 or so in multi-plexes of 12 or more screens. I am able to puff my self up with pride and say, "I've been saying that for 5 years now."
One thing the article doesn't talk about is that there are so many theaters all over the place now that not only can everyone see a film on it's opening weekend, but all those people are spread out across many different movie houses. With the audience being so spread out, no ONE theater or theater chain makes any real money off the newest blockbuster. That being the case, they try to build more, bigger theaters to get a larger share of the audience. This just spreads it out more because the competition does the same, and now they're saddled with huge theaters with huge overhead costs. All the while, the same audience just keeps on getting spread thinner and thinner over all these theaters.
This, then, creates situations in which print quality can suffer because they don't have enough people to keep a close eye on things, which sends more and more people to HBO, Pay-per-View and DVD sales to get their movie fix.

Jack Briggs

Senior HTF Member
Remember how films used to be released on a limited "roadshow" engagement for their first few months--that's right, months--and then on a wide "showcase" run that, in some cases, could last for years?
Also, remember how, in those days, a popular film's ad would be bannered "34th week!" or somesuch?
This, of course, ended by the 1980s.
There have been a lot of stories appearing in the past three or four weeks about this whole phenomenon of going for the big opening weekend as a make-or-break situation.
Of course, many of the writers agree: If only Hollywood would put out better "product."
------------------
2001-a.jpg

Trenton McNeil

Second Unit