What's new

HMTIB Suggestions (1 Viewer)

ChrisWG

Agent
Real Name
Chris Weeg
Hello all. I am a newb when it comes to anything home theater. I basically need a system for a small room; I want some nice performance for movies and music. I am not looking to spend more than $200 as this is my first system and I am a poor college student. I found this system and it looked to be a good deal:

http://www.samsclub.com/shopping/nav...45&prDeTab=2#A

Would you reccommend this? Any other suggestions? Thanks in advance.

Jack Briggs

Senior HTF Member
Welcome to Home Theater Forum, Chris. Your thread has been moved to A/V Sources, which is where complete systems get discussed. The Basics area is for general discussion about home theater at the beginner level; brand-specific requests and information are done in the appropriate hardware-specific areas.

And since I don't know much about HTiBs, I'll let someone else comment on your proposed system. (Also, no thread bumping at HTF!)

Charlie Campisi

Screenwriter
The Onkyo and Yamaha systems are usually recommended for HTIB, but I think your budget might be a hundred bucks or so shy. There are refurb Onkyos out there that might get into the $270 range. I don't have the link, but I know it's been posted here. Do some searches for "HTIB" in this forum. Or "onkyo" and "refurb" or "refurbished."

LanceJ

Senior HTF Member
A lot of HTiBs sold by well-known manufacturers like Philips usually sound decent IMO as long as you aren't into "critical listening". And this HTiB has a sub with an 8" woofer so - in the typical small dorm room - it should actually have some feelable bass at least down to the 40Hz range (most music doesn't go below that point anyway). The USB connection looks useful too.

LanceJ

Senior HTF Member
Or if you would rather have significantly better sound quality AND much more volume, this system would fill the bill: