HK125 Video Out Switching Problem

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by scott-a-a, Aug 10, 2003.

  1. scott-a-a

    scott-a-a Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm hooking up my new HK AVR125 and I'm pretty sure its defective, but want to make sure I'm not screwing something up. I am unable to switch video sources (cable,DVD,VCR).

    I have DVD to AVR via S-Video & Optical audio. DVD plays and sounds great, however, using any other inputs (Video1,2 or 3) for RCA outs from CABLE Box or VCR I can only get AUDIO, but TV stays blank(dark). I only have S-Video Monitor Out from AVR to TV.

    Using RCA-Monitor Out I can get VIDEO on TV only if the S-Video is disconnected. Any thoughts before I tear it down??? Thanks.
     
  2. David G Greene

    David G Greene Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    IT needs to be all the same.

    ALL RCA or all S-Video.
     
  3. BrianWoerndle

    BrianWoerndle Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    "Using RCA-Monitor Out I can get VIDEO on TV only if the S-Video is disconnected"

    From the receiver or TV?

    Does your TV have 2 inputs? Some TV share the S-video input with the composite and will look for the higher input. It may be an issue with your TV.
     
  4. The Void

    The Void Agent

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't tear it down. It is working correctly. Sounds like on your TV you have a Video input, lets say Video 1, that has an S-Video and RCA video input. If you plug an S-Video AND RCA Video cable into Video 1 at the same time, most TVs will only display the S-Video connection. When you unplug the S-Video cable from the TV, the RCA connection will be displayed.

    Your reciever will switch S-Video inputs and output them to the TV through the S-Video "Monitor Out" jack on the receiver. To switch composite RCA video inputs with your reciever you will have to connect a cable from the RCA "Monitor Out" jack on the receiver to a different video input on your TV, don't use the same input that you are using for S-Video.

    I know its strange but most recievers work this way. Some will convert composite RCA video to S-Video but not the majority. I have an AVR325 and I *think* it doesn't convert composite to S-Video, not sure though since I don't do any video switching with it right now.
     
  5. scott-a-a

    scott-a-a Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    HEY EVERYONE THANKS FOR THE HELP!!!

    My Bad, just needed to stay apples-and-apples: either all RCA or all S-Video. My Cable box doesn't have S-Video out so I'll have to go composite.
     

Share This Page