What's new

HK AVR 520 and power/volume level (1 Viewer)

First of all, I'm new to most of this stuff, so please forgive me.

I have a relatively new AVR 520 connected to JBL S38s for the front, S36s for the rear, and an S-Center. I've noticed that the 520 doesn't seem to have enough power -- what I mean by this is that I can easily turn the volume level all the way to +10 on most sources, and while it's relatively loud (and I would usually not listen to anything at that level), it seems like it should be even more powerful. And interestingly, while the volume scale on the 520 goes from -80 to +10, starting at -80, I can't hear anything until I'm at about -29. What's the point of the lower levels if they're not audible at all?

I sometimes listen to music and some DVDs in the range of -5 to +2. This seems a bit weird that I'm almost at the max volume with a receiver like this.

Is this all normal, or am I just an idiot who hasn't set up the receiver properly?

Thanks.

Chris Tsutsui

Screenwriter
I don't know what the actual watts the 520 puts out but lets just call it 75 per channel. If so, 75 watts into a single 89db sensitive speaker will output:

107.7 db from 1 meter away
98.0 db from 10 feet away with peaks of 104db
94.5 db from 15 feet away with peaks of 100.5db

I'll assume that a 3db increase will occur when using 2 speakers outputing the same thing so if you sit about 10 feet away from the S38s at max volume you'd hear about 101db with peaks of 107.

However don't feel too bad if you feel you need more amplification, lets say you got a 110 watt Denon 3802 that actually outputs 110 watts. You'd get numbers like:

109.3 db from 1 meter away
99.7 db from 10 feet away with peaks of 105.7
So sitting 10 feet away listening to both S38s would result in about 103db. (Only 2 db louder than your HK 520 IF the power ratings are correct)

The difference between 110watts and 75 watts in "decibels" is actually only 1.66 db.