What's new

HK AVR 435 vs. AVR 240 (1 Viewer)

kpn

Auditioning
Real Name
nagesh
Hello,

I am a newbie to the world of home theater systems, looking to buy a receiver under $500 and have the following questions:

1. I read good reviews for HK AVR 435 and AVR 240. How do the two compare? Other than the power rating, is there any difference in terms of how they sound or in the features?

2. How does the Onkyo TX SR701 compare with the above HK receivers?

3. I am also looking for under $1000 speaker system. Do the Mission M-Cube speakers work well with the above receivers? Assuming that the speakers would be the M-Cube, which receiver is a better fit?

I greatly appreciate your advice/suggestions.

Nagesh

kpn

Auditioning
Real Name
nagesh
Ok. I finally ordered the HK AVR240. It was not based on any great research. Most reviews seemed positive. Hope I will like it!

Planning to buy either the Polk 6800 or the Mission M-cube speakers. Any suggestions regarding buying one over the other would help? I am open for any other brand/model too in the $500 to $800 price range. Since I don't have much space, I prefer smaller sized speakers.

Nagesh

AndrewLevine

Stunt Coordinator
Nagesh-

Have you tried looking into Athena speakers? The "Athena Point 5 MKII Speaker System" should fit nicely into your budget.