Hitachi 36udx10s question......Can the Scan Velocity Modulation be shut off ?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Todd smith, May 10, 2002.

  1. Todd smith

    Todd smith Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can this feature be shut off on this set?
     
  2. Tony Mc

    Tony Mc Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I emailed Hitachi regarding this same issue. Here is the replied email from Hitachi:

    "Because of the nature of your inquiries, please contact our support line directly by calling 1-800-HITACHI.

    An operational specialist will then assist you.

    This department is open 8:00 am - 8:30 pm Monday - Sunday.

    Again, thank you for taking the time to contact us.

    Heather

    Hitachi Consumer Relations"

    Below is the email I sent Hitachi:

    Hello,

    Hi just purchased the 32UDX10S television. The specifications on the Hitachi website shows that it has Advanced Scan Velocity Modulation. Is this feature able to be switched on and off? The manual does not mention if this can be done.

    Your glossary on the Hitachi website on describing Scan

    Velocity Modulation, says that "Scan Velocity Modulation operation is switchable by the viewer". Can you please explain to me how this is accomplished?

    Also, how will picture quality with this feature turned off be displayed? Is this only used for HD viewing or DVD viewing or just analog/digital cable viewing?

    Thank you very much for any answers you can provide.

    When I called, the tech rep said that it can be turned on and off by going to the "Component Set" menu and switching between HDTV viewing or SDTV/DVD viewing.

    That was the answer provided by Hitachi. Give them a call and see what explaination they give you.
     
  3. Todd smith

    Todd smith Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I just called Hitachi and got a different response than you did. According to the girl I talked to the SVM is on FULL time EXCEPT when a 1080i signal is being diplayed which at this point the tv automaticaly switches the SVM OFF. I then asked about the advantages and disadvantages and she then told me the advantage is that everything is put in a progresive type picture. She said it is especially nice if you have a NON-progressinve scan dvd player as it should enhance the 480i image.

    The disadvantages are for people who have a progressive scan player or a 480p input of some sort. When using a 480p source with the component input the progressive feature of the dvd player AND the SVM are BOTH working at the same time which she said can cause some sort of interference with one another???

    Again I am just repeating what I was told. I hope the answer you got is correct. Have you tried turning this off like you were told? If and when you try this would you please post your results as I am very curious.
     
  4. James Zubb

    James Zubb Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 1999
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the 32UDX10S. Is there a test pattern in VE to easily see SVM artifacts? I always hear about how bad this is but I don't understand what the badness looks like. I have tried switching the component type between HD and SD, but it just looks like the normal picture controls (brightness, contrast, color) are changed so not sure if SVM is altered.
     
  5. Tony Mc

    Tony Mc Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a non-progressive DVD player (Panasonic RV-31) so I've no idea what the PQ is like with a progressive DVD player. I also do not have an antennea connected yet to receive local HD broadcasts. As I said before, DVD and analog cable looks great. Sorry I have nothing to add to the inquiry about SVM.

    Hey James, maybe the 32UDX10S's PQ is so good that you can't even tell the difference when it is switched to HD for HD reception!!!
     
  6. Rick Radford

    Rick Radford Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well this is good to know. I had wondered about this myself.

    I just put in a DVD and used the Component Set menu to switch back and forth between HDTV and SDTV/DVD settings. (it was in the SDTV/DVD by default).

    I could not tell any difference in PQ between the two with a DVD in. I could only tell a bit of difference in color/tint. The SDTV/DVD setting seemed to have brighter colors than the HDTV setting.

    So which setting has SVM enabled? I ended up leaving mine set to SDTV/DVD (with my Panny RP91 in progressive mode).

    I did not try it with the player in interlaced mode. My test was just a 5 minute quickie and was done without any recalibration. So my results may not be very accurate.
     
  7. James Zubb

    James Zubb Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 1999
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK, good news, I am pretty sure I disabled SVM in the service menu.
    Changing "VSM GA" to 3 disables SVM as fas as I can tell. The default is 1, posible values are 0-3.
    Since I am not sure if I totally get SVM yet I will list my test process below, please let me know if this is not correct:
    Using the details described on the Keohi site http://www.keohi.com/keohihdtv/exper...harpening.html
    I ran the needle pulse test in Video Essentails and saw the black line was thicker. Switching the componant set between HDTV and SDTV did nothing. Changing "VSM GA" in the service menu to 3 appears to turn it off, the lines were now the same size. I switched to the checkerboard patern and everything lined up.
    Incidentally the "VSM PH" seems to adjust the artifacts a little bit, so if you want SVM you could potentially "minimize" the artifacting using this value. Also I don't have a 1080i source so I cannot check if SVM is disabled with one.
     

Share This Page