HIT 32UDX10S DVD playback

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jon Duke, Jun 15, 2002.

1. Jon Duke

Jon Duke Stunt Coordinator

Hope you all can point me in the right direction...

I currently have an XBOX and a JVC XV501BK (a 1st or 2nd gen DVD player), and will be displaying their images on my new Hitachi 32UDX10S. I realize that neither DVD player produces a progressive scan quality image, but my understand that the TV should be able to create a picture that is "as good" with a progressive scan DVD player as one without that feature.

So, here's the question. Which of these two DVD players should produce a better picutre, or are they inferior to what a progressive scan DVD player could on the 32UDX10S?

Thanks
    Duke

2. Jorge M

Jorge M Stunt Coordinator

I have no experience with either the XBOX as a DVD player or the JVC player, so I cannot tell you which one will produce a better picture. I can tell you that, as a general rule, a progressive DVD player hooked up to a 480p display device will yield a better image than a regular interlaced player hooked up to the device's line doubler. This is because the processing on the image (3:2 pulldown, etc.) is done in the digital realm, and therefore introduces less artifacts and errors.

Of course the question now is, is this difference noticeable enough to warrant buying a new player? You have a nice TV, so I think you owe it to yourself to at least borrow a good progressive scan player and see for yourself!

3. Jon Duke

Jon Duke Stunt Coordinator

That is a good point...

The 3:2 pulldown was one of the main features that I was looking for in a new TV. Of course I wonder how much calibration will improve the picture I am already receiving (I'm looking at pickup either AVIA or HTT, thought I'm leaning towards HTT due to cost).