Higher end CD/DVD player for $300 or less? Used is cool.

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Chris Atkinson, Oct 1, 2003.

1. Chris Atkinson

Chris Atkinson Auditioning

Hey guys- first off, I'm new here and this is my first thread. Pleasure to be here. [​IMG] I'm an undergrad business student on a budget and trying to decide if I'm going to get a worthwhile, cost-effective difference in sound out of upgrading my 1-year old $150 Sony CD/DVD 5-disc carousel (on a digital coax) to something along the lines of a NAD or Rotel unit. I don't need multi-disc capability, just a single disc unit that will play CDs, DVDs and CD-Rs and have a digital coax or TOSLink out. DVD-Audio or SACD (still not sure which is better) would be an added bonus.

So, even if I'm fine with buying factory refurbished or used, can I get a NAD, Rotel or comparable unit to fit my needs that would significantly make my system sound better for $300 or less? If so, could you recommend a model? I have Athena speakers all around with a Velodyne CT-100, Onkyo SR600 6.1 and Monster XP wire. Also just a 27" Toshiba with a Monster S-video cable, but I'm not a video buff. 80% music, 20% HT.

Sorry for being another "help me decide!" person, but that's the weakest point in my system now and I won't bug you guys for help again after I upgrade. [​IMG]

2. Jon_Welker

Jon_Welker Second Unit