What's new

HIgher education. (1 Viewer)

SteveMetcalf

Agent
I'm new to HTF, so I'm unsure as to whether or not this is the right place to post.
I've recently changed careers. I was formerly an audio engineer working in recording and live sound re-enforcement. I am now working for a local(Kitchener-Waterloo region)independent home theater retailer. At work we have been toying around with the idea of holding some seminars to help educate consumers, and to help the more technically oriented customer achieve goals through better understanding of audio and video.
I was wondering if anyone from this area would find this sort of thing helpful. In the audio realm, I was thinking about covering all aspects of the electronic process and the acoustic environment. One of our video experts is currently working on topics.
If anyone is interested, please let met know. Also if there are specific areas of interest, that would also be very helpful as I consider what to teach, and when.

Brad E

Second Unit
That's a good idea, but my initial thought is what can you teach me that I can't readily find on this site, or one of the many other sites?

Allen Ross

Supporting Actor
the average person isn't gonna spend the time jumping from site to site covering the vast majority of information, plus if the salesman knows what he is talking about, he will make the sale rather then saying, this one will sound great.

Brad E

Second Unit
The average person won't spend time going to a seminar either. He's not looking to strictly educate the average person anyway.

Patrick D

Stunt Coordinator
It would be nice to put real sound and video to what is discussed. For instance:

- What is the difference between 720p and 1080i, and upscaled 480p? With real demo displays.

- How do cables impact a system? With a few identical systems present to blind-test and demo.

- How does volume impact the perception of sound? Again with a demo of two identical systems set up somewhat differently.