High def from satelite

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Stefan A, Aug 19, 2001.

1. Stefan A

Stefan A Second Unit

I am just beginning to research what I need to get started receiving stations like HBO or Showtime in HD. Right now, I have the Toahiba 50h81. I do not have a set top box. I was under the impression that if I bought the new 6000 sat receiver, that I would only need that to get HD. Then, I read that you also had to have the set top box. Do you really need both? Paying $600 for the 6000 receiver and then 6 or 700 dollars for the set top box seems a bit extreme. Then of course the monthly fee.
    Stefan Antwarg

2. Curt Jett

Curt Jett Agent

The E* 6000 is the STB. So that is the only receiver you need for SD and HD. It does require two sat dishes though, one aimed at the 110/119 birds and the other pointed at the 61.5 for HD programing.
    ------------------

3. RAF

RAF Lead Actor

Actually, if you live in an area where you can receive OTA (Over The Air) HDTV signals, you can purchase the 6000 and the OTA "module" and then use a UHF antenna to receive HD. No satellites and no monthly fee, either.
    And the $600 price you quoted is what it will cost you for the 6000 and the OTA module combined from places like www.dishdepot.com
    ------------------
    RAF
    [Demented Video Dude since 1997]
    [Computer Maven since 1956]
    ["PITA" since 1942]
    My HT (latest update 02/05/01)

4. Mike I

Mike I Supporting Actor

At this time you don't need to subscribe to Dish network but do need a satellite dish pointed at one of the birds for the OTA module to work and pick up ota channels...
    ------------------
    [Edited last by Mike I on August 20, 2001 at 07:27 AM]

5. Stefan A

Stefan A Second Unit

This is a copy directly from the Dishnetwork website of a description of the showtime hd channel -

6. Mike I

Mike I Supporting Actor