High Ceilings + No Back Wall + No Money

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by billybob_jcv, May 9, 2005.

1. billybob_jcv

billybob_jcv Stunt Coordinator

(Lurk Mode Off)

Hello all. I'm a noob researching my first HT purchase. I'm new to HT, but I have been an audiophile-in-training since the mid 70's. I have a fairly large room (18ft x 32ft) with high cathedral ceilings (no attic). This is basically a great room with the viewing area at one end (18 ft x 14 ft). I'm confused about what to do when you don't have a back wall or an 8ft ceiling - is this "good" or "bad"? I know real theaters have huge high ceilings, but they also have many huge speakers and huge amps! I'm also concerned about having enough sound for the room, and (of course) I also have a very limited budget - probably no more than $1500 for speakers and receiver. I'm thinking I only have the cash for 5.1 now, more later. Probably 75% movies, 25% music, and the music is Classic Rock (geez I hate being a "classic") - Zep, Aerosmith, etc. Is an $1100 5.1 speaker system and a $400 receiver going to be adequate for the average guy with this type of room?

billy

(Lurk Mode On)

2. John S

John S Producer

I am going to bet, your going to like it loud, I usually try to get people to true theater like reference levels. Your self description of yourself as an audiophile, probably dictates you will want that as well.

I think the minimum current production sub I'd put in that room would be a DLS5000R.

Under $600 from this fairly top ranked seller.
    http://www.aboutgizmos.com/vedl5.html

Maybe this AVR at a minimum....
    http://www.etronics.com/product.asp?...890&svbname=30

Leaves less than $500 for speakers though.
    Maybe just 4 of these.... Modern AVR's will create a center from the two L/R Front mains.
    http://www.etronics.com/listproducts...id=4127&store=

So not counting shipping...

That is:
    $577 for the sub
    $510 for the avr
    $440 for the Qty.4 AR tower speakers
    --------