What's new

hiding speaker cables (1 Viewer)

John*DB

Stunt Coordinator
what are common/popular ways to hide speaker cables as they are strung around the room?

- I can't go through the ceiling.

I am planning to go around the baseboard and tuck it in as much as possible BUT...

The BlueJeansCable Belden is SO big, I really have to push to get it under the base board.

will this HURT the cable?

Will the signal be lowered at all due to a tight fit under the baseboard?

That might be a stupid question but Im a newbie.

Thanks!

Bruce-E

Stunt Coordinator
You can push them under the baseboards,try not to damage the cable.Don't hammer any nails or stables into the cables.

The best way I saw was a friend took pvc pipe and covered it with left over carpet he had,then ran all the speaker cables thru the pipe.The pipe was glued to the baseboard where the carpet and baseboard meet.It was cheap to do and didn't look bad at all.

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
There may be some cosmetic damage to the outer jacketing, but there won’t be any to the internal wiring. This is a common problem - if running around baseboards is your only option, you probably should have used smaller-gauge wire.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

John*DB

Stunt Coordinator
well...I had to go a LOOOOOOONG way around my room so I needed a decent size gauge. I'll make it work...will just take some "tweaking" :D

PeterK

Supporting Actor
When we put our baseboards down we kept them a few millimeters up. this way it was easier to get wires under them. I you put your baseboards on after you had the carpet put in then you should be able to cram any speaker wire or other semi small cables under them. I found using a butter knife or flat screwdriver works best.

MichaelDDD

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Mike
Hi John,

I don't have the Bluejeans Belden that you have; I'm using the 12ga Soundking wire for my speaker. But here's my deal.