Hiding components and using remote

Discussion in 'Accessories, Cables, and Remotes' started by BrianTwig, Jun 14, 2006.

1. BrianTwig

BrianTwig Second Unit

Hello all. I am pretty new to this home theater stuff. This site was wonderful in answering questions on equipment choices. Now I have an issue that needs resolving.

I have a Marantz SR 5600 receiver, Marantz CC4300 CD player and will be adding the Marantz DV4600 or other DVD player shortly when I get my new TV. Dish Network Satelitte receiver as well. Also have a VCR, but I could care less about that. Rarely used, and only for kids videos and some instructional tapes I have a hobby of mine (magician).

Here is my issue. With purchasing a new TV I need a new TV stand for it. I want a "bench" style stand and am having one hell of a time finding one that makes me happy, will hold all the components and is within budget ($500). My TV will either be a LCoS or a plasma (50" or bigger on both). Yes, I know, the plasma can go on the wall and no stand is needed. But I still need somewhere to put the components. And the stands that come with or can be used for the LCoS TVs are not deep enough for some of the components.

Also, with small children and their PB&J covered hands that must touch everything, I need a bench stand that has doors on it (glass, screening, etc... so remotes work). So the open style of a lot of TV stands doesn't work. So if you can guide me to a good source for these type stands it would be appreciated.

So here is my question. There is an under the stairs closet behind the wall the TV will be on (and current CRT is against). A quick and cheap solution for me is to put the receiver, CD, DVD player, and VCR in the closet and then hook up one of those "eye" thingys so I can control them with the remotes from the couch and not have to get up.