Hi Definition signal question.

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by ChrisCosmo, Jul 28, 2003.

  1. ChrisCosmo

    ChrisCosmo Extra

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone, forgive me if this question has already been posted, as I searched but got little results from it, so i may have just missed it. I recently bought the Mitsubishi WS55311 and got my cable company to set up the HD cable box(its a motorola, have no idea of the model number, but havent really looked either). ESPN HD and the local CBS work fine since they are being broadcast in 1080i, but the fox station is broadcasting in 720p, and my TV is opting to display this signal in 480i. Is there a setting on the TV to make this signal be converted to 1080i or should that be handled by the cable box? If the cable box is the culpret, does anyone know how to change the settings on the HD box that comes with Comcast Cable? Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    2
     
  3. JohnSch

    JohnSch Extra

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    The cable box does it - for example the comcast FAQ on their cable box says:
     
  4. ChrisCosmo

    ChrisCosmo Extra

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks so much to all who replied...I'm going to look at it now to see if it has a switch and get the model number if it does not.
     
  5. ChrisCosmo

    ChrisCosmo Extra

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I looked all over the cable box and through the setup menus and there is no indication of this switch whatsoever. I called the cable company and asked about it, and all they said they could do was send a tech out to look at it. Even they dont know where this switch is evidently.
     
  6. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15
    The Motorola box allows you to view the setup by pressing the menu button on the box when the box is powered off. The first line is the output format, for your TV is should be set to 1080i. This will convert all signals to 1080i. This is for the 5100dtc box. Any other box should have it's manual available at Motorola.com.
     
  7. ChrisCosmo

    ChrisCosmo Extra

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Jeff, I went and checked the menu and it was already set to 1080i, but I was able to make all of the otehr channels come across the box in 480p, so that cleared up my cable picture alot on some channels, but the fox digital channel is still in 480. ill go to motorola and check out their site. Thanks again.
     
  8. Lew Crippen

    Lew Crippen Executive Producer

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Messages:
    12,060
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  9. ChrisCosmo

    ChrisCosmo Extra

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  10. Steve Schaffer

    Steve Schaffer Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 1999
    Messages:
    3,756
    Likes Received:
    1
    ESPN's and ABC's native HD resolutions are both 720p. This may be converted by the cable system before it gets to your box, or by the box itself.

    Fox's "HD" is actually called Enhanced Definition by Fox and is 480p with a 16/9 aspect ratio. This is only used for a few primetime shows and some sports, the rest of the time your Fox affilliate may just send 4/3 480i or 480p, with either pillarboxing or a station generated stretch.

    My local CBS affilliate isn't equipped to pass the CBS HD signal yet, and is broadcasting only a 480i to 1080i upconvert with a station generated stretch instead of pillarboxing like most other stations when doing an upconvert.
     
  11. Ken Chan

    Ken Chan Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 1999
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recall reading -- probably in the TV forum here -- that Fox has announced they will be going to 720p. Forget when.

    //Ken
     

Share This Page