1. The HTF Tapatalk application has been discontinued. Please see the thread in the Forum Help & Feedback area for more information.
    Dismiss Notice

Helping my boss with his new RPTV

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by GioAngles, Jan 2, 2003.

1. GioAngles

GioAngles Auditioning

I'll be getting one soon, but in the meantime, I'll be helping him with his new Hitachi 43FWX20B. Aside from getting on his good side, it'll be a nice practice run for when I get my own RPTV within the next month or two.

He's already buying Avia on my reccomendation, and I know I need to dial down the video settings from the default "torch" mode as soon as we turn it on. My question is, is there a break-in period for the TV before I calibrate it with Avia?

It's my first time using a calibration disc, and I understand that Avia in particular is very explanatory, but are there any helpful hints I should know right off the bat? Should I do do the video set-up in any particular order, or will the disc walk me through it?

I'm fairly proficient with computers, but very new to home theater. Thankfully, my general knowledge has grown considerably by lurking in these boards.

I don't think he's completely sold on getting an ISF calibration, but since we'll both be getting these TVs from our company, I can probably convince him that it's a good idea.

2. Hal_J

Hal_J Agent

regarding the break-in, what i recommend is that you turn the tv on, reduce brightness and contrast to 50%, and then go mow his lawn. (if it doesnt take long to mow his lawn, you really should be brown-nosing your VP, or someone with a larger home/yard.) next, wash and wax his car(s) and shampoo his dog. finally, spend an hour telling him that you enjoy his personality and consider it a bonus to be paid at all, because you love working for him so much. it seems more sincere if you are shining his shoes when you say this.

after doing the above, the tv should be sufficiently prepared for you to run avia.