Help Y'all! I am temping and trying to play a CD at work that's COPY CONTROLLED

Discussion in 'Music' started by Dave Mack, Dec 12, 2005.

  1. Dave Mack

    Dave Mack Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,668
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Greetings!

    This is not one of those evil Sony Cd's with the rootkit thingy. It's a European Queen CD released by Parlophone. When I put it in the computer (Windows) a window pops up saying that Windows needs to download new software in order to play the CD which I think is ASS. But that's just me. I almost NEVER play CDs on a computer so I haven't run into this yet. After hearing of the Sony rootkit fiasco I am very wary of downloading ANYTHING...
    Can anyone help? Turns out I think I own quite a few of these type of CDs...

    Thanks! D
     
  2. David Brown Eyes

    David Brown Eyes Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 1999
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go to Best Buy or where ever you purchased the cd and tell them it is defective.

    If they ask way say "I can not put the songs on my I-pod"
     
  3. Steve Berger

    Steve Berger Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Have you tried holding the "shift" key down when inserting the disk to stop autoplay; then starting the player application? Probably worth a try.
     
  4. Aaron Silverman

    Aaron Silverman Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 1999
    Messages:
    11,195
    Likes Received:
    765
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Florida
    Real Name:
    Aaron Silverman
    If it has the official Compact Disc logo on it, you can say it's defective because it claims to be a CD but doesn't meet the specs.
     
  5. Andrew Bunk

    Andrew Bunk Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A great tweak for XP that everyone should know, quoted from www.musicxp.net:

     
  6. Dave Mack

    Dave Mack Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,668
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks guys! I actually ordered it from the Uk and on my home player it's fine. I honestly don't usually use a computer EVER to listen to CDs but I am temping at an office for 3 weeks and was curious. It is parlophone which I assume is a pretty big label in Europe as Queen is on them there. Is this similar to a Sony copy protection thingy here?

    [​IMG] d
     
  7. EricSchulz

    EricSchulz Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,669
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    I know that alot of UK and Japanese CDs have some form of copy protection on them, but I don't know which companies/titles have it or how it works in comparison to the stuff Sony tried.
     

Share This Page