What's new

Help.... WS vs. 4:3 (1 Viewer)

AllanY

Auditioning
I'm a newbie to setting up a home theater. I'm planning to buy a RPTV (around 50"). Btw, I'm located in Canada. I noticed all the shops are selling widescreen TV and HDTV now. The question is I'm not sure I should get a WS TV. I noticed the viewing screen will be smaller on a widescreen or stretched. Also, the salesman said in the future (in 5 yrs or so), many programming will be switch to HDTV format. Is that true? Would it be silly to get 4:3 HDTV now??? I'm very confused...

Any comments/help are appreciated!!!

;)

Jan Strnad

Screenwriter
Allan,

Widescreen is the shape of TV's future, 4:3 is the shape of TV's past. Unfortunately, we're in the transitional period where most of what is broadcast is still 4:3.

If you like modern (post-1950) movies on DVD, you'll love widescreen as it minimizes the black bars or eliminates them completely. Yes, 4:3 TV is smaller, with bars on the sides, or you need to stretch it.

Some companies have excellent stretch modes (Toshiba) and some have lousy stretch modes (Mitsubishi) but most have stretch modes that are at least "good." Stretch modes will become less and less of an issue as more broadcasting goes widescreen.

A widescreen set will give you more value as the years pass and more material is broadcast widescreen, whereas a 4:3 set will be less satisfying with each passing year.

You may be able to get a 4:3 set with a larger screen than a comparably-priced widescreen set. In this case, widescreen material may be larger or as large as widescreen material on the smaller widescreen set, though with bars top and bottom. Some people prefer this alternative.

Personally, it just seems "wrong" to me when my sitcoms are larger than my movies. I prefer the black bars to be as small as possible or gone completely on widescreen movies. Finally, I think the widescreen sets simply look better.

So, I'm a widescreen advocate.