What's new

HELP! Would this be a good setup? (Klipsch) (1 Viewer)

SterlingHug

Auditioning
Real Name
Logan Hug
Hey there. I'm new here and I have no idea what I'm talking about.

I'm a college student and I'm looking into getting a decent audio system for my new place. I've got a pretty nice 61 in Samsung DLP TV in a pretty large room (28 x 18). I was looking into the Klipsch Synergy Series. I did some research and found the B-3 bookshelf speakers. I was thinking I'd get those and the complementing C-3 center channel speaker. Would this fill the room pretty well while still maintaining a good sound? I'm also thinking of getting a sub later on...

This is for both music (rock/jazz) and movies.

Oh and also, what's a good receiver to drive these speakers?

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
That is quite a large room. Especially if you are going to use these speakers at high volumes without a sub. Put a sub on your list.

Klipsch makes nice speakers but not everyone likes them. Speaker selection is very personal. What sounds good to someone will sound harsh to the next person. Audition them to see whether or not you like them. You don't mention surrounds. Why aren't you going with a full surround system?

As for receivers, we have a section here for them. Pick one that has the features you need. Auto calibration, HDMI switching, etc. Any decent name brand receiver will work. You just have to find the one that meets you needs.

-Robert

SterlingHug

Auditioning
Real Name
Logan Hug
Mmm well I wasn't really thinking about getting the surrounds cause I didn't really wanna spend that much money. I might end up getting them later.

Regarding the sub, I have a 15 in Velodyne sub from like 1987 that needs to be repaired. The foam surrounding of the cone deteriorated and I need to get that replaced.

Do you think it's worth repairing, or should I just invest in another sub instead?

Logan

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert