Help with Sub noise

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Scott_Mill, Aug 28, 2001.

1. Scott_Mill

Scott_Mill Extra

I just finished my first sonosub and hooked it up to my old plate amp last night. At first I thought it sounded great, but then I noticed a vibrating distorted noise coming from the driver. When I touch the dust cap or rubber surround it stops, but as soon as i let go it starts again. Do you think there is something wrong with the driver or could i have something inside the sub that is touching the driver? Or could the amp be doing this? I am new to this so any help would be appreciated.

2. Patrick Sun

Patrick Sun Moderator

3. Scott_Mill

Scott_Mill Extra

The driver is pretty tight, but I am not sure if the sub is air tight, it is ported. How can I check that? If it does have leaks will that cause these kind of problems? Thanks.

4. Patrick Sun

Patrick Sun Moderator

My patented trick is to stuff a nerf football wrapped in a plastic grocery bag into the port, and then slowly push in the driver cone and see if you have a lot of resistance to the pushing force applied. If so, your enclosure is pretty air-tight.
    What kind of load is the driver connect to run at (if it's a dual-voice-coil, is is connected as a 4 ohm load or 8 ohm load)?
    What kind of driver are you using?
    ------------------
    PatCave; HT Pix; Gear; DIY Mains; DIY CC; Sunosub I + II + III; DVDs; LDs

5. Scott_Mill

Scott_Mill Extra

The driver is a 10" BPD1001. I am new to all this so I dont know if it is 4 or 8 ohm.

6. Patrick Sun

Patrick Sun Moderator

7. Fred Seger

Fred Seger Stunt Coordinator

Could it be the "ground" hum so many of us have experienced. Usually it from your cable T.V. - try unplugging your cable feed and see if it continues.

8. Brian Bunge

Brian Bunge Producer

Scott,