What's new

Help with speakers for an Onkyo 595 (1 Viewer)

John Milanski

Auditioning
Hi all, first time caller...!
This is my first attempt at a HT setup. Based on the Forum, here's what I'm thinking...
1) own: Toshiba 32A40 32" TV, component in, 750 resolution
2) own: Celestion 9, 3-way (6-1/2", 4-1/2", 1" titanium) 100w speakers for mains
3) buy: Home Theater Direct Level 2's for rears and center ($218)
4) buy: Sony SA-WM40 subwoof ($175)
5) buy: Toshiba 4700 DVD ($230)
6) buy: Onkyo 595 receiver ($375)
Total new cost $998
The setup will be in a 15x15 vaulted living room, 50/50 music/movie use. The DVD-Audio and DPLII are important to me, and the Celestion 9s are bright and defined...
Celestion 9 specs
My main concerns are around the old (1992) Celestion speakers...
1) Will the Celestion fronts jive well with the HTD center?
2) If no, should I move the Celestions to the rear, and just buy HTD Level 3's for the fronts and center?
3) If yes, do I even need a subwoofer if I have the 3-way Celestions as fronts?
4) Best place to buy the Onkyo 595 and Sony SA-WM40?
Thanks alot in advance...
--john milanski

Ryan Schnacke

Supporting Actor
I've got to agree with Thomas. The subwoofer is a must have. The Celestions F3 is 55Hz. You'd be missing out on an entire octave of bass without a competent sub.
J&R does have excellent prices.
I've heard so many good things about the HTD level 3's and only mediocre comments on the level 2's. I think it'd be worth it to spend the extra $120.

John Milanski

Auditioning
Yep, I guess a sub (like the Sony SA-WM40) is a good idea...
BUT, I'm still a little concerned about the speaker setup. I was hoping to save a little money by using the Celestion 3-ways as mains, and find three other, smaller speakers for the center and rears. But I'm concerned that whatever I buy won't mix well...