What's new

Help with SACD setup please! (1 Viewer)

Mark Hobbs

Stunt Coordinator
Hello all. I'm a newbie and this is my first post.

Background (optional reading):

Not long ago, my wife and I decided to spend some $$ on a small home theater. So we ordered the BOSE Acoustimass 6 speakers and an Onkyo receiver. When it arrived we excitedly set it up and turned it on. We listened for a minute, then my wife looked at me and said, "This sucks." I thought that pretty much summed it up.

All we had ever heard were good things about BOSE. I was sure I had something set wrong on the receiver, because I couldn't believe the sound could be so flat. After a few hours of playing around with settings, I couldn't make it sound any better.

The next day, I decided to do some research. Turns out we aren't the only ones to be disappointed in BOSE. Before long I stumbled onto this site and have been lurking for a couple of weeks now. I'm happy to say that the BOSE is on its way back to the store. (We returned the Onkyo also, but it wasn't the problem.) Based on your great advice (and a tight budget), we are now the proud owners of the following:

Sony Vega KV-27FS13 TV

Denon 1802 Receiver

Sony DVP-NS500V DVD/SACD

Paradigm Titan mains

Paradigm CC-170 center

Paradigm Cinema rears

Sony SA-WM40 12" sub

We are still waiting on the TV to be delivered (tomorrow!), but we could not be happier with the audio! We were dancing in the living room when we turned on those Titans! I know to some of you guys this stuff is hardly great, but to us it sounds amazing. And the whole thing cost us about $2000. If we had known that $2000 could go so far, we would have done this a long time ago.

Enough background, now to the point of my post: