Help with recording.. Do I need to format a CD-R?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Tom Garvey, Jan 29, 2002.

  1. Tom Garvey

    Tom Garvey Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 1999
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just recently got a Plextor drive.. and am not sure exactly what to do. I have Roxio Easy CD Creator & Plextor software.. I know that with the Plextor software you can format the cd. Am I supposed to? I bought formatted disks..

    I am using CD-Rs and want to record some of my favorite songs from other cds.. I understand that I load the cds in their respective drives and drag & drop the song(s) to be recorded..

    Will it ask me to finalize after each song or at the end?

    Do you have any other tips?

    Thanks
     
  2. Tom Garvey

    Tom Garvey Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 1999
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    One more thing.. Will the Easy CD Creator get disk information from CDDB? I'm not seeing it...
     
  3. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,719
    Likes Received:
    463
    You only have to format CD-RW disc, not CD-Rs.

    You should make sure you close the session after all the songs have been recorded onto the CD-R (else your CD player might have problems reading it).

    I've never worried about the CDDB, so I have no idea.
     
  4. Tom Garvey

    Tom Garvey Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 1999
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Patrick..
    I need more help. The Plextor MVP2000 seems to be the default cd player. First.. I don't want it to be and second when I try and preveiw a song in the Easy Creator window I get no sound. The little cd controls open up and the thing looks like it is playing but no sound. Same thing happens when I try to use Microsoft CD Player Ver.5
    How can I fix this?
     
  5. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,719
    Likes Received:
    463
    It would be helpful if we knew which operating system you are using.

    I didn't realize you could have a CD drive be the default drive, but depending on how the CD drive properties are set up in the Control Panel's Device Manager, you may be able to turn off the "auto-run upon insertion" feature for the CD drive.

    Is the main Windows system volume level all the way up, or down to zero? Either check the tray in the bar on the bottom, or look in the Control Panel for the sound applet.
     
  6. Iain Lambert

    Iain Lambert Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 1999
    Messages:
    1,345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another possibility is that you don't have the audio lead connected from that drive to your soundcard. The current version of Media Player defaults to doing a digital extraction of the sound, as does Winamp and (if memory serves) Nero. It sounds like your problem is that EzCD is using the analogue playback, and your analogue connection is not in place.
     
  7. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,719
    Likes Received:
    463
    I had considered that possibility, but I thought Tom was trying to play a track that was already on his hard drive.
     
  8. Tom Garvey

    Tom Garvey Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 1999
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks again!
    The analog cable wasn't connected..
    I'm still getting familiar with this new PC I built about 6 weeks ago.. and in trying to work out some kinks I disconnect some hardware and forgot to re-attach the cable. Such a newbie:b
    Stay tuned for more questons [​IMG]
     

Share This Page