Help with Receiver with no Sub Out

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Curt Gilker, Dec 11, 2002.

  1. Curt Gilker

    Curt Gilker Agent

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an older Pioneer receiver with no sub out. To use a sub, I think I connect the line level outs from the receiver to the (powered) sub, then the line level outs from the sub to my L/R speakers. Is this right?

    If this is correct, can I still use the volume control on my receiver, or is volume now controlled at the sub?
     
  2. Carl Johnson

    Carl Johnson Cinematographer
    Supporter

    Joined:
    May 6, 1999
    Messages:
    2,259
    Likes Received:
    25
    Real Name:
    Carl III

    correct.

    The volume for your speakers and sub will be controlled by by the master volume control on the receiver.
     
  3. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    If you are talking about running wire to the sub, then to the mains, then yes, that would be correct. Line level would be pre-amp analog (RCA), not wire (speaker level).
     
  4. Phuong

    Phuong Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Depends what kind of receiver you have. I have a Pioneer VSX-305 pro-logic receiver with no subwoofer output. It has no pre-out/pre-in loop like the old Harman Kardon receivers or typical stereo receivers, so I send speaker wire from the left and right channels all the way to my VTF-2's speaker-level inputs and then send speaker wire to back to the left and right speakers, NHT SuperOnes. The subwoofer has a first-order high pass crossover at 90 Hz, so the SuperOne's don't have to handle any bass. It works fine for now, until I acquire a dolby digital receiver to replace it.

    peace, and happy listening
     
  5. Walt Park

    Walt Park Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Couldn't you just use any analog out?

    For instance, most people dont have a tape player anymore, but most older recievers have an in and an out. Because it's tape, the out is always on, so you can use L/R rca's from the tape out to the L/R inputs on the sub and control volume from the sub. (This is assuming you want pre-amp out to the sub) If you use any pre-amp out, you have to control the volume of the sub at the sub, unless it's LFE, where we wouldnt be talking about this at all. (I think)

    Maybe I don't understand the question.
     
  6. Marc H

    Marc H Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2001
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hiya Curt,
    Does the sub have high level (speakerwire) inputs? If so, follow John's advice.
    Walt, the problem with the tape output is that it is a fixed volume level and not governed by the volume control on the receiver. It would work but be a pain to keep adjusting the sub.
     

Share This Page