Help with PJ connections

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by AaronHA, Mar 10, 2006.

1. AaronHA

AaronHA Auditioning

Hey everybody. This is my first post and first of all, thanks to everyone here (via the seach function) for the insight and help in home theater. Your knowledge is pretty staggering. I am new to this stuff and this forum has been invaluable in helping me get started.

I am getting the infocus 4805 PJ and my question is this. Which inputs should I use for which device? The 4805 has the following inputs: 1 Component, 1 S-Video, 1 Composite & 1 DVI. Which should I use for the dvd player, the sat. dish receiver (eventually) and a PS2? I'm just not clear which input is best suited for which device. I realize there is flexibility in this but I'm not sure which is the best way to go.

My first instinct is to just do the following:
    dvd player to PJ using the component inputs (or should I use the M1 adaptor?)
    PS2 to PJ using the composite inputs (or is there a better option?)

At this point I am planning to use the PJ for mostly dvds. Later this year I intend on getting a satellite dish again but that's not til this fall when football kicks off. So, right now it's pretty much exclusively just for movies and PS2 games.

Any advice would be great. If you need more info to give me an answer please let me know.

2. Inspector Hammer!

Inspector Hammer! Executive Producer

John Williamson
    Aaron,
    welcome to the forum! [​IMG]

I currently have an Infocus 4805 on it's way to me (upgrading from the Infocus X1) and for me the choice was easy, like you, I mainly watch dvd's and as soon as I read that the 4805 had a DVI input, I immediately decided to buy an upscaling dvd player.