What's new

Help With Onkyo TX-SR702 (1 Viewer)

Brandon_V

Auditioning
Hello All,
I am pretty new to the audiophile status, But I went and bought a home theater.

I bought a Onkyo THX certified TX-SR702...A Veladyne SPL2 series 12 inch powerd subwoofer... and for speakers I bought some Klipsch Speaker's, my buddy recommended them, but They seem good to me, For my surround's I have the
KS-525-THX..my center is the synergy RC-35, and my Main speakers are the synergy F-2's. All I know is they sound better than my old Infinity's.. But dont know if the definitive tech speakers I also heard would be Better for my house. (Would like opinions on that)

Anyway to get the question, My Veladyne sub provides plenty enough bass for my 35' by 22' room for the theater. I have read and re-read the Onkyo manual, and I cannot stop most of the Bass going through my front's as when I listen to music I like it very loud and the fronts fold under the bass of some of my older music but the sub is (lack for a better word) flawless. And the only way I can have the sub on is by having the double bass on (so it says in the manual) Does anyone know how to bypass the double bass and still have the sub work only in "Pure Audio Mode" Or Pure Stereo?
I am sorry for rambling but wanted to get the klipsch speakers out there as I have a 30 day listening period, And the showroom was not as big as my theater room, Are Definitive Tech's better than klipsch? Sorry I know thats a loaded question. Again thank you soo much and love my new stuff, and thanks for any help or suggestions.

Brandon VanLieshout

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
The simple way to do it is to have your mains set to small and use the lowest x-over they can handle. In most cases, I would recommend leaving double bass OFF.

Patrick.B

Auditioning