Help with Onkyo TX-DS 777 Receiver

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Shane Bass, Aug 7, 2001.

1. Shane Bass

Shane Bass Extra

Everybody will have to forgive me as I am a rookie at posting but I have a situation that I can't figure out to save me. When I purchased my receiver, the salesman told me that all the video connections would have to be the same thing: either all S-Video or RCA video jacks in the back of the receiver in order for the receiver to work. Since I did not have a S-VHS VCR, I connected the video using RCA jacks. This past Christmas, my wife gave me a S-VHS VCR and I tried connecting all of my equipment to my receiver via S-Video cables. However, once I made these S-Video connections to my receiver and then connected my receiver to the TV, the picture was in black and white. I have 3 inputs on my TV and everyone had a black and white picture. When I connected my DVD player to these inputs, the picture was normal. Is it possible that my S-Video socket on my receiver is faulty, thus giving me the black and white image? Any help would be greatly appreciated as this problem has worried me for the longest time. Thanks!

2. Will Gibbons

Will Gibbons Agent

Shane,
    I do not have my 777 hooked up to my bedroom system right now, but instead using it for its amp section to test some speakers. I pulled out the Instruction manual to see if I could come up with any ideas. I am not sure about the statement from the dealer sales rep regarding only using composite (RCA) or S Video connections. Page 9 on your manual indicates that V (RCA) inputs will only output on V and the same for S Video. It also indicates you should check with your monitor/TV booklet to see if you need to either or both.