Help with Onkyo receiver . Pro Logic or 5 Ch Stereo?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Dennis Ellis, May 2, 2005.

1. Dennis Ellis

Dennis Ellis Stunt Coordinator

I have been using an onkyo 575x for several years. While watching digital cable I have noticed that the front always displays "Pro Logic" instead of the normal "5 Ch Stereo". First of all, what is the difference? Which is better? I realize "better" may be subjective, just talking in general.
    The only thing I can think of is that my mother-in-law was at the house recently alone watching tv (and taking care of our 3 month old). Anyway, I mentioned to the wife to ask her mom if she had touched any settings but she said she had not.
    So could something have changed with COmcast that would have changed the signal to Pro Logic? Or is it definately a setting? I haven't found my manual as of yet and I wanted to ask here.

2. gene c

gene c Producer

Gene
    It's a receiver issue. Someone pushed a button. I'm not familiar with that receiver but there should be a button marked surround or dsp. Push it(them) until you get back to the setting you want. As for the difference, ProLogic takes a stereo signal and converts it to surround sound by sending a different signal to the front three and the same signal to the rears(mono). The newer ProLogic II sends two separate signals to the rears. I've never been quite sure what 5 ch stereo, or the newer 7 ch, actually is. I think it's a stereo signal to the fronts and rears with a down-mixed mono signal derived from the fronts for the center. ProLogic is supposed to be better but I sometimes listen to 5 ch with the center turned off. Seems to give a better "stereo" image without the center.

3. John Garcia

John Garcia Executive Producer

John
    5ch stereo copies the front L&R signal to the rears and matrixes the center, so it isn't "surround", just more of the same sound. 5, 6, 7 or "all channel" stereo are all the same thing.