Help with New LCD setup?!?!?!?

hibsy33

Auditioning
Real Name
mike
Hi all...this is my first time posting on this site and i think i came to the right place...i just purchased a new Syntax OLEVIA 32" 2 Series LCD HDTV (232V) from Circuit city yesterday and i was hoping someone could shed some light on what steps i need to take to make sure im doing everything correctly in set-up. Right now i have the tv connected to a XBOX 360 via VGA component as well as to my digital cable time warner box. My main concern is caring for the system in terms of watchin dvd's, and local ditigal programming. I have completed the calibrating test using a dvd, and my contrast is set to just under 50%.

When i am flipping through analog channels and i come to hd channels, the channel will start out as a full-screen picture and then change so that there are black bars on both sides after about five minutes or so. then i can not get the full screen to go back out to its original position. Is this normal?? Also, my zoom 1 and 2 look awkward and some of the picture is cut off, especially on espn when i cant see scores at bottom of screen. SOme DVD's have black bars on both sides also and im wondering if i need to change resolution, or other settings to fix this dillema. Any help would be appreciated thanks in advance.

Joseph DeMartino

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Joseph DeMartino
You need to go into the setup of both your TW cable box and your DVD player and change the "TV type" or "TV shape" from 4:3 to 16:9.

The zoom modes should only be used to zoom non-anamorphic (hard-matted) letterboxed material on DVD or non-HD channels. Your set should automatically adjust for anamorphic widescreen and normal 4:3 material.