What's new

Help with HT connections (1 Viewer)

Ranise

Auditioning
Hi,
As a beginner, I need a little help in connecting my video gear. Here's what I've got:

Dish TV 500 receiver(RF in/out, s-video out, compostite out
GE DVD player(coax, optical, s-video, composite out)
Phillips VCR (RF in/out, composite in/out)
RCA receiver(every kind of in/out)
GE tv(RF in, composite in/out
outside antenna for local stations.

I want to use one remote control if possible. I'm thinking the best way is to use composite cables for everything and plug the outside antenna into the vcr.

Is this the best way? I want to use the receiver for all sound and video processing if possible.

Also, does anyone know a remote control code(4 digit)for the Dish 500 receiver?

Thanks in advance,
Ranise

Neil Joseph

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Neil Joseph
Hmmm... Your TV has no component or s-video?

Some receiver are able to convert the different video formats (composite, s-video, component) but most cannot. If your TV had composite, s-video, and component then...

- Dish Svid to receiver
- DVD optical & Svid to receiver
- VCR composite out & audio L&R to receiver
- TV composite out to receiver
- Antenna to VCR then from VCR to TV (for normal viewing)
- Receiver composite, s-video & component to TV

If your receiver does not convert, and your TV does not have s-video and component then you will need external s-video/component - composite converter, or else just use composite cables all around but that would be a slight shame. S-video offers much more resolution and fixes some of the artifacts that you find with composite and then compnent is another smaller step up in improvement over s-video.

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
I'm thinking the best way is to use composite cables for everything and plug the outside antenna into the vcr. Is this the best way? I want to use the receiver for all sound and video processing if possible.