Help with hardwiring rope lights

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Jay Mitchosky, Nov 5, 2004.

  1. Jay Mitchosky

    Jay Mitchosky Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 1998
    Messages:
    3,729
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Picked up my rope lights this week and all but one string will be hardwired to electrical rather than using the standard plug. I had a cheap "sacrificial" strand to inspect, and unsheathed a chunk of the roughed in wire in my theater. Here they are:

    [​IMG]

    I'm pretty sure I can figure out white-to-white and black-to-black. [​IMG] However, the wire roughed in throughout my theater has an additional ground with no partner in the rope strand. How does this fit into the equation?
     
  2. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,123
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    6,610
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Jay,

    When it’s used, a ground lead ends up attached to the metal chassis of an electrical component. The idea is that if the hot lead ever gets loose internally and touches the chassis, it will cause the breaker to trip. If there was no ground and you touched the chassis, you might become the path to ground and get shocked.

    Since there is no metal chassis with rope lighting, you don’t need to worry about the ground lead in this situation.

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  3. Jay Mitchosky

    Jay Mitchosky Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 1998
    Messages:
    3,729
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So in other words just let it dangle? Or cut away? That's simple enough.
     
  4. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,123
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    6,610
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Let it dangle. That way it'll be there should it ever be needed in the future.
     
  5. Jay Mitchosky

    Jay Mitchosky Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 1998
    Messages:
    3,729
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And presumably all I do is cut the plug off the rope light and expose the bare wires as I did with my dummy?
     
  6. Tony Loewen

    Tony Loewen Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you got it.
     
  7. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,123
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    6,610
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Connections should be with standard electrician’s wire nuts. It looks like your Romex is 14ga, so the orange ones will do nicely. The picture of the Romex shows the leads stripped about right. Trim the rope light’s stripped leads a little shorter so that they’re about time-and-a half those of the Romex and you’ll be in business.

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  8. Jay Mitchosky

    Jay Mitchosky Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 1998
    Messages:
    3,729
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Groovy. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page