What's new

Help with DVD-A Setup/Sound Quality (1 Viewer)

Chris-V

Stunt Coordinator
I'm fairly new to DVD-A and am having some problems getting set up. I used to just use the Dolby Digital mix on my DVD-A's, but recently decided it was time to upgrade to a true DVD-A player using 5.1 analog connectors. I picked up a low-end Toshiba universal 5-disc changer (don't have the model number handy). I hooked up the 5.1 analog outputs to my receiver using standard RCA cables I had sitting around.

The surround effects are fantastic...light years ahead of the Dolby Digital I had been listening to. Unfortunately, the low end completely dropped away. Bass drums sound more like snare drums, and the sub-woofer is barely firing. The result is music that's wonderfully enveloping but incredibly bright and tinny.

This effect occurs when I set my receiver (Pioneer VSX-D912K) to the "DVD 7.1" setting. If I switch over to "DVD," with an analog source (I understand that this makes the receiver's decoder kick in) the music fills out nicely but I lose the DVD-A precision and surround effect.

Can anyone offer suggestions as to why I would be losing the low end when using the 5.1 analog? Could it be cables? A cheap decoder in the player? Any thoughts on how I might fix this problem? Thanks.

Ferdinand*T

Second Unit
There is nothing wrong with the equipment you have. I had the same problem but its just the way the format is. The only thing you can do is turn the bass volume up in the player or I think the receiver too, or turn the volume on the sub up. I don't know why this format is like this but it is. Hoped I helped a little.

Citizen87645

Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Cameron Yee