What's new

help with digital cable hook-up (1 Viewer)

chiante

Agent
i am a very new newbie. i have a scientific atlantic digital cable box with coax, and s-video. my tv has a s-video jack, and my receiver has s-video inputs with monitor out, and has a coax input. how do i hook my cable box, tv, and receiver up using these inputs properly. right now i have the cable coax going to the receiver, which gives me digital sound on the digital channels,but no sound through the receiver on the analog channels. i have the s-video from the cable box going to tv in on the receiver and the s-video monitor out going to the s-video on the tv, but i get no picture unless the receiver is turned on. what am i doing wrong? the receiver is a panasonic sa-he 100.

Michael Reuben

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Michael Reuben
You're not doing anything "wrong". It really depends on how you want to configure your system. Let's divide it into audio and video:
VIDEO: Since you're passing the video signal through the receiver, the receiver has to be on for you to watch the signal. If you don't want that, you'll need to take the S-video signal directly from the cable box to the TV.
Note that there's an alternative. If your cable box is like most Scientific Atlanta models, it will have at least two (2) video outputs, one S-video and one composite (the composite takes an RCA plug). You could leave your current wiring in place and run an additional composite video cable from the box to your TV. This should work as long as your TV has separate inputs; be sure to select the correct mode on your TV (e.g., the S-video connection from the receiver might be to "Video 1" and the composite from the cable box might be "Video 2" -- it all depends on what options your TV offers).