What's new

Help with Car Rental Advice (1 Viewer)

Mike Frezon

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Hey gang!

I am about to do something I've never done before--rent a car.

My wife and I will be going on a short trip to Florida soon. I'll be using Hertz as they are the only rental place at my exact destination. It looks as if they give a discount to AAA members (which I am).

My wife and I want to use a mid-size SUV for the rental. We'll have the car from a Friday through a Wednesday.

And that's about where I am and what I know.

Any advice anyone has about how to get a good deal, not to get "taken", adequate protection (insurance, etc.)--ANYTHING to watch out for--would be very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
Find out if your insurance covers rentals, if not buy the (ridiculously expensive) insurance through Hertz.

Like Indiana, if you get pulled over and they want proof of insurance, the rental has to be covered.

Paul D G

Screenwriter
Yes, you really only need to make sure your insurance covers you. Your credit card might cover you as well. I totaled a rental car once (totally my own stupid fault) and Amex covered the entire cost.

They'll try to up-sell you on insurance, GPS, and the convenience to have them fill up the car with gas for you when you return. Decline all of this and anything else.

If you haven't booked yet, check out sites like Hotwire. You can usually get a better deal.

Inspect the car for any damage before you drive off the lot. Take pictures and tell the attendant at the gate when you leave. They usually don't car about anything smaller than the size of a dollar bill, but it's good to cover yourself.

DaveF

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave
When you pick up the car, ask if they have any free upgrades available, even same class but with better features. They probably won't. But sometimes they've got the vehicles and you can get a nicer car just for asking nicely.

DaveF