Help! Which Surround Sound system should I purchase?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Kevin Porter, Jan 11, 2002.

1. Kevin Porter

Kevin Porter Supporting Actor

Harting Hello all. I was wondering which SS system I should buy. I am new to the world of Surround Sound and I was looking into a BOSE. I want to know what the best of the best is and the best of the budget systems are. I was also interested in the Sony DVD combo. Can someone help me?

~Kevin

2. Ted Lee

Ted Lee Lead Actor

hi kevin! welcome to the forum.

what is the best of the best? that is too subjective of a question. you can buy components that cost many thousands of dollars each, you can buy hi-end receivers that cost up to five thousand each, or you can buy mainstream receivers that cost anywhere from 300 to 3000 dollars each.

if possible, you'll need to be more specific.

1. what is your budget

2. are you looking for separates or a htb (home theater in a box)

i'd say the majority (but not all) of the people here tend to stay away from bose...you'll probably be able to find a much better setup at a cheaper cost if you do your homework.

anyway, try to give some more details...it'll assist us in helping you out.

3. Kevin Porter

My budget would be about up to $2000. As for a home theater in a box, It depends on which is better. Does that help you in reccomending anything to me?

~Kevin

4. Tim Kline

Tim Kline Stunt Coordinator