--= HELP: What to upgrade?... college student needs help! =--

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jason Blaydes, Sep 13, 2001.

1. Jason Blaydes

Jason Blaydes Stunt Coordinator

hello all, i'm new to this forum and am hoping maybe i could get some advice on what i should upgrade. i've currently got an XV- D701 jvc dvd player (with built in 5.1 decoder), a sony STR-SE391 digital ready receiver, the toshiba 55h70 55in HDTV ready tv, dish network satellite system, and jvc 4-head vcr. when i purchased my sony receiver, i bought it in a package that included 5 sony speakers and a powered sub.
    now what should i upgrade for about $500 bucks?... please remember that i'm a college student and am looking to have a decent budget system.
    i'm considering purchasing a new receiver. i think that will give me better sound, plust my current receiver does not except DTS. the reciever that i have been looking at is the JVC rx-8010vbk... http://www.jvc.com/product.jsp?modelId=MODL026350&page=2

2. JohnnyN

JohnnyN Stunt Coordinator

Shouldn't even bother listing the sound fields on that JVC, they're not very impressive.
    Marantz SR4200 $338.98 http://shopper.cnet.com/shopping/res....html?tag=prod
    The marantz has dpl II
    ------------------
    --------------------------------------------------
    Somebody has to pay for retail businesses to let us walk in and audition high quality equipment side by side with our own dvd's and movies. I don't mind paying a premium to support this kind of service and convenience, I wish others would consider this when buying discounted b-stock merchandise from shady internet dealers.
    JKB

3. Chuck C

Chuck C Cinematographer