What's new

help!! very new at this, need speakers!... (1 Viewer)

John Avanti

Auditioning
Hi,
I am brand new at this, and not very knowledgable when it comes to Home Theater etc. But I really really am getting into it,I saw one, and that's it I was hooked, I'm afraid this obsession just started. I am putting a home theater in my basement it measures 16x26, going w benq 8700 proj and denon rec,dvd.I am prob going to go with directv, I have approx $2,000 (give or take a little) to spend on speakers and sub. Prob 80% Movies 20% Music. I want the best my money will buy.I've come across many brands Paradigm,Snell,Klipsch,Rocket by Onix I'm just so confused. I Think I want 6.1 or 7.1 not in wall. I am amazed and I admire the amount of knowledge all of you have on Speakers and Subs. Please :) recommend a speaker system for me, it would be much appreciated!!

Thanks John

John S

Senior HTF Member
I still tend to give more an emphasis on music suggestions, so I will let others chime in.

That is a real great budget, you should be able to get some very high end gear that you can be real proud of for years to come.

You can get 6 JBL S38II's for like $750, and a 15" Velodyne sub for like $500. And even though that is a top notch bang buster system, you can do better with the extra budget, I have no doubt.

I still suggest getting the meanest sub you can, then the rest of your budget going to speakers. (Especially since you emphasis is on HT and not music)

ChadLB

Screenwriter
Go for a SVS sub(many to choose from) and like John said spend the rest on a nice speaker package.From what you listed speaker wise Paradigm/Rockets are good and maybe add the Axiom's to your list.
What works for alot of people speaker wise is go listen to your favorite cd at a place you can demo speakers and choose the ones you like. Everyone has there preferences for speakers.....

ChrisWiggles

Senior HTF Member