What's new

HELP! Trying to simplify my setup for speakers/sub/soundbar/tv/turntable (1 Viewer)

bmwolan

Auditioning
Real Name
ben
Hi -

I'm a newb trying to figure out the right setup for my living room. I currently have an LCD tv, cable box, xbox, blu-ray, a decent new Yamaha AVR, a powered sub, and some crappy but adequate front and surround speakers (wired). I just moved so nothing is really connected.

I'd really like to simplify my setup. I don't mind losing the speakers but I'd like to replace them with either a soundbar or something wireless. I'd probably just do a soundbar for my TV and all the visual components, but since I have a turntable I'd like to be able to use that too, not sure if the turntable/preamp would work with a soundbar. Plus, the idea of not using my newish AVR or sub, kinda bums me out.

thoughts?

thanks

Ben

mccambley

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Casey
Get a passive sound bar that needs a receiver like any other speaker.
From top ten review:
Passive sound bars include one or several speakers for each of the front channels (i.e., left, center and right). In the back of the speaker is a connection for each channel, which you need to attach to an amplifier or receiver. Passive sound bars need an amplifier or a receiver simply because they have no built-in power amps. So, while passive speakers may be cheaper than active sound bars, they require a surround receiver to even produce front-channel results.
Active Sound Bars
Active speaker sound bars have the same configuration as passive sound bars, but they also include built-in amplifiers and surround sound processors to separate the center channel sound. This makes active sound bars more expensive than passive sound bars, but the advantage is that you don't need a bulky external amplifier to produce basic front channel sounds. Picking this type of sound bar is ideal because it gives you an incredibly clean flat-panel installation with a minimal number of wires.